Pintresting…

I am obsessed with pinning. It’s horrible. I’m in need of a 12 step program.

Often, when I’m nursing Shannon to sleep I pin things. Most Moms use the time rocking their terrorists bundles of love and joy to sleep as time to bond. Not this Momma. I pin the crap outta everything. In my defense, if I didn’t do something I would more than likely fall asleep and dump my kid on the floor. Not exactly poster parenting to be throwing your kid on the floor.

Anyways

I actually have made 98% of the things in my food category, and haven’t had anything come out inedible. The only one I won’t re-do is the Chinese food wannabe things. Too. Much. Work. I don’t know how they do it in 10 minutes. I’ve done some of the DIY crafts as well, and despite my lack of DIY-ness, they’ve come out pretty well. When I saw a link for a simple hair mask, I pinned it, excited to try. I had chopped the majority of my hair off when Shannon was a teeny-tiny baby, instantly regretted the decision, and the hair Gods laughed in my face. It’s still the same length almost 7 months later. This hair mask is said to encourage hair growth as well as make it stop resembling a fuzz ball.

When I finally got Shannon down for her nap, I ran to the kitchen to whip up a batch of super hair. The directions were as follows:

  • 2 egg yokes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 c water

Mix it all together, massage into scalp and wait about 15-20 minutes before rinsing.

I stood upsidedown over the sink in my jammies (no judging) and dumped the mixture on my head. It’s extremly drippy so I wrapped my head loosely in a towel and waited the 15-20 minutes that was recommended.

Sexy ain’t I?!

I jumped into the shower for the rinsing part, since I had gotten egg concotion in all my nooks and crannies.

This next part is very important…so listen up, y’all.

I stood under the hot water for a few minutes, reached up to rinse my hair only to discover that THE EGG WAS BEING COOKED ONTO MY SCALP! 

Apparently the instructions forgot to mention to rinse with COLD water. It took me 20 minutes with a fine toothed comb to get all the cooked egg out. I still found bits this morning stuck to my scalp, and I had taken a second shower before bed.

Pintrest, fail.

My hair also doesn’t look much different, as far as the shiny factor. We’ll see about the growth thing.

Maybe I shouldn’t put so much trust into Pintrest after all, and go back to reading my Kindle at night…

I’m off to save the cat, wait on the soldier to get home, then go ride my horse.

Tell me what you think!

