Favorite Things- Equine!

Hey y’all! Thanks for tuning into to the Favorite Things- Equine edition!

I’ve been riding since I was around 7, so I’ve been around the block when it comes to products, equipment, supplements, and the like. I wanted to share a few of my favorite things! Feel free to comment below to add your favorites to the list!

1) SmartPaks {http://www.smartpakequine.com} – I cannot say enough things about this wonderful company. For those of you who don’t know, SmartPaks are premeasured supplements that come in a handy labeled package. Willow gets B-L Pellets and Probios in the AM, and all you have to do is tear the lid off the container and dump it in her feed. No measuring, nothing. They also have an auto-ship/auto-pay option so I don’t have to worry about running out. We pay about $24 a month and the Paks get sent right to the barn. Their customer service is outstanding and they actually know horses. I’ve ordered other products from them (they offer way more than just supplements!) and their prices are reasonable and shipping is quick, usually 2-3 business days. The company also has a wonderful sense of humor!

2) Shires Half Pad {http://www.theoriginalhorsetackcompany.com/Shires-Half-Pad-p/sh4353p.htm} – Every horse Mommy knows what a headache saddle fitting can be! I use this half pad under Willow’s saddle, while we are playing around with the fit, and it does everything that the expensive Mattes pads (which I covet, but can’t justify spending mucho dinero on!) do. It’s holding up rather well, and I have one each in black and white. Black for schooling and white for shows. I’m thrilled with it, and it’s made a positive difference in the fit of Willow’s saddle. No more ouchie back!

3) Horze Tendon Boots {http://www.horze.com} – I know, I know. I have gushed about these boots over and over. Amazing quality, amazing fit, amazing price, amazing company. ‘Nuff said! They have some super fun colors to satisfy your inner child (and face it, whose going to steal lime green tendon boots?) and some subtle ones if you’re boring as well. The company ships out quickly, and while they don’t have a very large selection, I have a feeling it’s all about quality and not quantity with them. They also just launched in the US this spring, so here’s hoping they expand and offer more wonderful quality items. Even if they don’t, I’ll still be checking their inventory first!

4) The Gym {literally...} – Or running, or work out videos, or whatever. I’ve found that not only am I a more effective rider when I’m in shape, but I feel better too. So much of riding is getting your horse in shape, working their muscles, and cardio. The way I think about it, is that it’s not fair to ask my horse to get into shape, when I’m not myself. I like to be able to keep up with them physically as well! I’ll post my workouts one of these days, but I like to switch it up, and I do a lot at home since the gyms that offer reasonable childcare in our area are $$$$$. Find a friend to keep you motivated and get movin’!

5) Dressage With Kyra {http://www.amazon.com/Dressage-Kyra-Kyrklund-Training-Method/dp/1570761108/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349222711&sr=8-1&keywords=kyra+kirkland} – This book has really opened my eyes and helped me apply the dressage basics to any horse that I’m working with. I love it! I have a firm belief that any horse can benefit from a strong foundation in dressage, and I hope to continue my dressage education when we move (*sob*). I love Kyra and her methods, and they have worked well for her! Obviously. 🙂 You can learn more about Kyra and her methods at www.kyrak.com.

I hope that you’ve found some of these helpful! What are some of your favorite equine things?!

 

Tell me what you think!

