Doomsday!

Okay. Well maybe I’m being a little bit dramatic.

I about 98% sure that, given the right situation, I could very, very easily turn into one of those Doomsday Preppers that you see on TV.

Before I had a baby, the extent of my storm preperation was to grab a bag of Chex Mix and throw $15 worth of gas in my car. It was no muss, no fuss, because really, I’m cool with peeing in the woods and water was for sissy’s anyways.

Now, not so much. I still find storms exciting, and I LOVE a good rainstorm. Hurricanes kind of up the ante, however.

I’ve been kind of sort of following the progress of Hurricane Sandy that’s supposed to hit our area Monday(ish), and she doesn’t seem to be slowing down. Mike actually asked me to go get supplies today while he took Shannon for some Daddy/Daughter time. I kicked into overdrive mode, since he NEVER worries about this kind of stuff.

He said that he was checking in on her progress this morning, and she’s (idk why she’s a she…) set to hit New York/New Jersey, then up UP towards Canada. Before she gets to Canada, she’s gonna hook a left and pass right over the top of us. Bad hurricane! Bad! Bad!

I don’t know what any of this means.. but it doesn’t look good…

So off  Dixie and I trundled to Hannafords to stock up on water, snacks/food, batteries, TP, and diapers. The lady infront of me at the checkout line took things a bit more seriously, and I choked a little bit when her bill hit over $400. From Hannafords we ran home and I filled up a bunch of plastic totes with water, unearthed the beasts’ crates, packed a few extra blankets/candles/lighter/cans of beefaroni/Shannon’s snacks in the truck (LOVE my floor storage. Score one for Dodge!), and made sure the cats had plenty of fresh water and food in case we get stuck somewhere. Dixie has her collar with ID tag, and will be going with us if we have to leave the house for anything.

Willow will be tucked in nice and tight in her stall, and I’m not worried too much about her weathering the storm. I wish I could go snuggle with her the entire time, but I don’t think that that would be the safest thing ever.

For those of you who have horses… just a few things to make sure that your bases are covered.

  • Make sure you have ID attached to your horses in some way. I like the small round bridle tags from Dover. You can weave them into manes, or attach to halters. Provide at LEAST your name and phone number with area code. All lead ropes should have chains attached, even if you don’t normally use them, and should be readily avaliable.
  • Coggins and health records should be stowed away in your truck, along with a picture of each horse. Ideally you should hitch your truck to your trailer the night before, and have it ready to go with hay and extra water. Keep your gas tank full, and check tire pressure. It’s always a good idea to throw a few extra halters/lead ropes/coolers in there too. Make sure you can get all your horses to load. The middle of an emergency isn’t the time to be fighting with a crappy loader.
  • Have an evacuation plan that everybody who may be involved is aware of and comfortable with.
  • Fill ALL water tanks on the farm to the brim. You don’t want to be without water should the power go out. Make sure you have enough grain and hay for the minimum of a week.
  • Three words. First. Aid. Kit.
  • Finally, secure all loose objects. Knock jumps over if you have an outdoor, stack plastic chairs inside. If your horses stay outside, do a walk about of their area and take note of all trees, and double check fencelines.

Pilly is ready! Are you?!

I’m off to go dispense some carrots to my beautiful beast, do a few dances to the weather Gods, then enjoy the few hours of peace and quiet that I have left while my adorable munchkin is off bonding with her Dad. 🙂

Good luck, y’all!!

Tell me what you think!

