Wow…

So I log in, to post my Equine Affaire (I can’t believe I’ve been spelling it wrong, and nobody told me!) update, and noticed that Shannon’s 9 month update never actually posted. I saw the link on my facebook and figured it was fine. Shame on you WordPress. I have not been impressed. I usually lose at least part, if not all, of my posts each time I publish them. Blogger was a PITA, but at least it didn’t lose entire posts. Where do they go, anyways? I love the layouts here, they feel more crisp, but I’m not okay with my posts going poof!

I realize that I have a lot of catching up to do. We’ve hard a whirlwind few weeks, and el bloggo has fallen by the wayside. I’ll try to get all caught up in the next few days.

But for now… the most important thing!

 

Shannon is a firecracker. She’s constantly moving, and most favorite activity (after attacking the poor dog) is to pull down whatever is in her reach. We have little drestructo piles all over. Nothing is out of reach, it seems like. She also loves to ‘wave’ hi and bye (all the time. She’s convinced I’m always either going or coming…), climb the stairs (gulp), and she crusies the furniture like a boss. She isn’t a huge cuddle bug, unless she’s tired or wants something. She’s too busy destroying the house. We encourage her, though! It’s how they learn. Everybody has their money on the fact that she’ll be walking by Christmas. I, personally, kind of hope that she’ll hold off until after we PCS, but I know it isn’t going to happen. The first thing going up in the new house will be baby gates!

En route to destroying Uncle PJ’s blocks.

Our house is similar to Ft. Knox in how things are blocked off. We have a total of 5 baby gates, but they all work in our favor, since we have a little mover and shaker.

On the tooth front, there are still none. They have started giving her a bit of trouble, and her gums are getting increasingly more swollen, but still nothing. I’m not too worried about it though. It’s not like toofer growth is directly related to a learning disability, her doctor has assured me. πŸ˜‰

Speaking of doctor’s, she passed her 9-month well baby with flying colors! She’s tipping the scales at a hefty (cough) 16lbs 13oz and is standing at 27 3/4″ tall (that’s 6.3hh for you horse people). Tall and skinny! She grew over 4 inches in 3 months, no wonder she’s been so cranky! πŸ˜‰

We’ve starting into food full tilt, and with it breastfeeding has taken a backseat in Shannon-land. I’m rolling with it! She still nurses at night, and if she wakes up, but during the day she’s decided she’s too cool for that stuff. Luckily, however, she’s a great eater. She’ll usually happily hoover anything that you put on her highchair tray. Some of her faves include broccoli, carrots, green peas, bread, turkey, venison, anything soup related, Plum Organic’s pouches, apple sauce, greek yogurt, blue berries, seaweed,Β and cheerios. We’ve been given the green light by her doctor to give her just about anything, other than honey (age 1) as well as peanuts and popcorn (age 4).

We’ve taken a more baby led weaning approach, now that she has the chewing thing pretty much down. She’s also figured out to make poor Dixie work for her scraps. Instead of just dropping bits on the floor, she makes the dog jump up to her to get them, then giggles hysterically! It’s adorable.

She and Dixie are best buddies, and it’s great to see that I’m passing my animal loving-ness (totally a word…) on to her. Mike never had pets growing up, so this is all new to him as well. It’s fun to watch. Dixie is just enough of a goober to keep Shannon entertained long enough to allow me to pee. Works for me. πŸ™‚

The sleep thing has also been improving (knock on wood). We really struggled there for a while, but moving bedtime up, and making sure she got enough sleep during the day helped ten-fold. She’s usually asleep between 7-730 and will wake up around 1-2. Then it’s right back to sleep until 7-730. We’ll see how long THAT takes to change!

Some other things that Shannon loves? Teeth. She’ll happily stick her finger into anybody’s mouth so she can pick at their teeth. It’s a little disturbing.

There aren’t many things that she dislikes. Hats, mostly, and getting dressed. Since she figured out how to get her diaper off, clothes are overrated. πŸ˜‰

So there you have it! Shannon!

I was going to post about my after baby body, now that it’s been 9 months out (after 9 months in!… well 8 months and 3 weeks. πŸ˜‰ ), but really, who cares? I’m raising a happy, healthy little pipsqueek and body image can wait. I’ve got better things to do. I feel great, I can wear real pants, and my husband thinks I’m sexy. So there!

Tell me what you think!

